top of page
Search
  • jnngrmrmrkt

6x6 Exhibit

Every summer Rochester Contemporary Art Center’s (RoCo) 6x6 exhibition brings together thousands of original artworks, made and donated by celebrities, international & local artists, designers and youth. Artworks must be six inches square (2D or 3D) and signed only on the back, to be exhibited anonymously. All artworks are exhibited and for sale to the public for $20 each to benefit RoCo. Artists’ names are revealed to the buyer upon purchase and all artworks remain on display through the end of the exhibition.


The submission deadline for the 6x6 exhibit is usually in early April, so I had some time to work on my pieces. At the end of February 2022, Ukraine was invaded by Russia. It was all over social media and the news and I wanted to do something to support Ukrainian's. I am very inspired by folk art and traditional European forms and patterns. I also have a passion for folklore and story telling so researching Ukrainian traditional folklore and making a piece based on it seemed like the right direction for me. I found a traditional tale, The Fox and the Cat and from this story I created my piece . You can read the story here: https://www.worldoftales.com/European_folktales/Ukrainian_folktale_11.html#gsc.tab=0


For my second piece, I was inspired by my love of fiber work. In March 2022, I had participated in an artist retreat where each attendant was to bring a different activity or presentation for others so that we would all walk away learning a variety of new skills. My activity was weaving a small wall hanging on a cardboard loom. My love of fiber has extended my whole life and with that love comes a large collection of wool, yarn, felt and threads. As I taught the group I thought, even thought it would be small, it could be an interesting piece for the 6x6 Exhibit, using texture and a medium I was so familiar with.


I am happy with how both pieces turned out and am looking forward to applying again!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page