top of page
Search
  • jnngrmrmrkt

It's a Marshmallow "Little People" World in the Winter

For the last 5 years, I have made and entered a gingerbread design to the George Eastman Museum, Sweet Creations Exhibit. Every year I have challenged myself with a different aspect to work with for my creations.


I listened to the podcast 99% Invisible where Alexandra Lang was a featured guest, released on July 25, 2022 and had a spark of an idea! I have to apply in August to get a slot for the exhibit that opened November 12, 2022 but I didn't have a solid idea before i listened to the podcast. In the episode they mostly talked about "A Frame" Houses and Alexandra had mentioned that her first encounter with one was the 1970’s FisherPrice A-Frame house from when she was a child. The vivid color and the simplicity of the design had stuck with her for all this time. My family and myself also had fond memories of the Fisher Price "Little People" sets. So knowing the deadline was coming up and hearing her inspiration just the week before, I thought, "Yeah I could make that out of gingerbread!"


So a few months later and a few failed attempts, I did!


This is my take on the 1970’s FisherPrice A-Frame house! I hand dyed the fondant myself, baked the gingerbread, made the Royal Icing, used assorted chocolates for presents and mini marshmallows for snow! The only in-edible parts of this creation are the base, the strings of lights (that actually light up) and the poles and thread from which the marshmallow "snow" hangs from.


I also wood burned a debossed roof pattern to a wooded rolling pin to add to the roof to be more recognizable from the original design. I did have to make some adjustments to the original designs of the interior furniture but I did after all make a doll house out of gingerbread!


I really hope that someone enjoys it for the holiday season and it brings back memories of when they were a child or perhaps like my family, many generations of children.














2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page