top of page
Search
  • jnngrmrmrkt

Cookie Class

A great way to decorate for the holidays is with traditional decor. After the last 4 years of working with the gingerbread medium, I love to decorate my home with my gingerbread through the holidays. They are guaranteed to bring a spice aroma to your home while adding a folk decor look to your holiday decorations (the way I choose to decorate them at least!). For a while after my baking, every time I use my oven it smells of spices!

After making so many ornaments as gifts for my friends and family I decided to use what I had learned to teach a class at a local painting studio. All ornaments prepared beforehand and a packet of information for each attendee. Together we learned about traditional folk decorations and made the ornaments. When packed away for the holiday season the ornaments really did keep their scent for the following year. All ornaments did smell better closer to a lightbulb to add warmth to the gingerbread itself to release the scent. I haven't experimented with any form or varnish or coating to prevent molding or preservation but I think its good to make them year after year. One thing I do love about them being natural and as is, is their sustainability. With nothing on them I can compost as necessary and the ribbons can be reused to make new gingerbread every year! Pictured above is a few selections of decorations with a gingerbread tea-towel created by a local artist Emma Brooks (Insta @emmapaigeb).




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page