top of page
Search
  • jnngrmrmrkt

Our bestfriends..

When I was in college and first learning to illustrate, the one thing that I wanted to illustrate was my dog that had recently passed. My teacher told me animals were the hardest and not to do it. He told me that his friends with 15 years in the industry were just starting to accomplish realistic illustrations of animals. I ended up illustrating an Irish village instead, (which is a story for another day), but I knew I could illustrate animals if I wanted to. I knew that fur and depth didn't scare me from a two dimensional format. Once you understand highlights, mid-tones and lowlights you can make anything come to life.


The following years when I needed gifts for my friends I thought, what a better gift than a portrait of their fur babies! Printed or digital (or even as a Snapchat filter) the portraits were accurate to each animal and a perfect gift for them to cherish forever.


What do you think? I'd love to do more pet portraits. If your pet is still with you or gone for a number of years, the sentiment that they leave paw prints on your heart, rings true.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page